Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir

chamber choir
The Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir (EPCC) is Estonia’s best-known professional music group abroad. The EPCC was founded in 1981 by Tõnu Kaljuste, who was its artistic director and chief conductor for 20 years. In 2001, the position of artistic director was turned over to Paul Hillier, and as of September 2008, the current director and chief conductor is Daniel Reuss.
The EPCC’s repertoire ranges from Gregorian Chant to 20th century music. The choir has a close relationship with Estonian composers Veljo Tormis and Arvo Pärt, whose music has held a very special place in its repertoire for many years. The choir gives 60–70 concerts per season and tours regularly in Europe, the United States, Canada and Japan.
The EPCC has worked with many famous conductors, including Claudio Abbado, Helmuth Rilling, David Willcocks, Eric Ericson, Iván Fischer, Ward Swingle, Neeme Järvi, Paavo Järvi, Nikolai Aleksejev, Andrew Lawrence-King, and Roland Böer; they have also performed with the Norwegian, Australian, and Lithuanian Chamber Orchestras, the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, Stuttgart Chamber Orchestra, Berlin Rundfunk Orchestra, Concerto Copenhagen and Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie, among others.
The EPCC has been invited to participate in many famous music festivals all over the world, such as BBC Proms, Edinburgh International Festival, Cheltenham Music Festival, Salzburg Festival, Abu Gosh Music Festival, Moscow Easter Festival, Bergen International Festival and the Gaida Festival. Recording is another major component of the group’s activities, which include records available on ECM, Virgin Classics, Carus, and Harmonia Mundi. The group received a 2007 Grammy Award for Arvo Pärt’s Da Pacem, (harmonia mundi), as well as eight Grammy nominations for their recordings with Erkki-Sven Tüür and several Baltic composers.