Back to catalogue search

Au plus haut des cieux. Chmaber Symphony. Five Romances by Anna Akhmatova

Brigitte Peyré, Ensemble Orchestral Contemporain, Daniel Kawka
    • Apple Music
    • Spotify

    One of the key thinkers of Russian music of the second half of the 20th century, Edison Denisov left a major legacy. This CD presents works from his late period, among them Au plus haut des cieux – a setting of texts by Georges Bataille – which is emblematic of these compositions. The deeply spiritual music recorded here echoes words to be found in Denisov’s personal notebooks: ‘Before the face of the Night, I am alone and powerless.’

    Read more Read less


    • Ensemble Orchestral Contemporain
      Chamber ensemble
    • Brigitte Peyré
    • Daniel Kawka


    EDISON DENISOV [1929-1996]
    Symphonie de chambre n°1 pour orchestre de chambre (1982)
    for chamber orchestra

    · 1er mouvement (8'51)
    · 2e mouvement (4'55)
    · 3e mouvement (7'27)
    Au plus haut des cieux
    cycle vocal pour soprano et orchestre de chambre (1987)
    cycle for soprano and chamber orchestra

    · I. Qui suis-je ? (2'50)
    · II. Intermezzo I (0'55)
    · III. Le bleu du ciel (2'35)
    · IV. Intermezzo II (0'44)
    · V. Torche éteinte (2'21)
    · VI. Intermezzo III (0'41)
    · VII. Dieu (1'52)
    · VIII. Intermezzo IV (0'53)
    · IX. Étoile (1'08)
    · X. Intermezzo V (0'57)
    · XI. Ma prison (3'32)
    · XII. Sous le soleil (3'58)
    Cinq romances d'Anna Akhmatova
    pour soprano et ensemble (1994) / for soprano and ensemble

    · Le soir (1'58)
    · Dans le jardin (2'30)
    · Adieu (1'00)
    · Un mot (1'05)
    · La solitude (1'42)
    · Symphonie de chambre n°2 pour orchestre de chambre (1994)
    for chamber orchestra (12'46)

    Stay up to date with one click

    If you wish to get the latest updates on your favorite artists or track their next event, sign up below!

    Back to the top