Back to catalogue search

Brandenburg Concertos Nos. 1-6

Freiburger Barockorchester
    • Apple Music

    Six characters in search of a form
    The Brandenburg Concertos need no introduction – doubtless because they owe their fame to a systematicexploration of a genre recently inherited from the Italians, with a still youthful Bach devising as many different scorings as there are concertos. When he received the manuscript of the six works, Christian Ludwig, Margrave of Brandenburg, must have been terrified by their demands, and his musicians even more so! Three centuries later, the cycle is as open as ever to new ‘historically informed’ interpretations, as this set demonstrates.

    Read more Read less



    Concerto no.1
    in F major / Fa majeur / F-Dur BWV 1046

    · I. [Ohne Satzbezeichnung] (3'52)
    · II. Adagio (3'40)
    · III. Allegro (3'51)
    · IV. Menuet - Trio I - Polonaise - Trio II (6'31)
    Concerto no.6
    in B flat major / Si bémol majeur / B-Dur BWV 1051

    · I. [Ohne Satzbezeichnung] (5'31)
    · II. Adagio ma non tanto (4'05)
    · III. Allegro (5'38)
    Concerto no.2
    in F major / Fa majeur / F-Dur BWV 1047

    · I. [Ohne Satzbezeichnung] (4'49)
    · II. Andante (4'04)
    · III. Allegro assai (2'37)

    Concerto no.3
    in G major / Sol majeur / G-Dur BWV 1048

    · I. [Ohne Satzbezeichnung] - II. Adagio (5'37)
    · III. Allegro (4'41)
    Concerto no.5
    in D major / Ré majeur / D-Dur BWV 1050

    · I. Allegro (9'26)
    · II. Affettuoso (5'44)
    · III. Allegro (5'10)
    Concerto no.4
    in G major / Sol majeur / G-Dur BWV 1049

    · I. Allegro (6'42)
    · II. Andante (3'39)
    · III. Presto (4'24)

    Stay up to date with one click

    If you wish to get the latest updates on your favorite artists or track their next event, sign up below!

    Back to the top