Back to catalogue search

Chamber Symphonies opp..49a, 110a & 118a (transcr. Rudolf Barshai from the string quartets)

The Dmitri Ensemble, Graham Ross
1 CD
    • Apple Music

    A decade after its debut performance of the Chamber Symphony Op. 110a by Dmitri Shostakovich (after whom the group is named), The Dmitri Ensemble under Graham Ross performs the composer's String Quartets Nos. 1, 8 and 10, re-worked as thrilling "Chamber Symphonies" for string orchestra by his pupil and advocate, Rudolf Barshai.

    Read more Read less



    Chamber Symphony (Quartet No. 8), Op. 110a
    · i. Largo (5'16)
    · ii. Allegro molto (3'04)
    · iii. Allegretto (4'48)
    · iv. Largo (5'14)
    · v. Largo (4'05)
    Eine kleine Symphonie (Quartet No. 1), Op. 49a
    · i. Moderato (4'50)
    · ii. Moderato (4'37)
    · iii. Allegro molto (2'32)
    · iv. Allegro (3'35)
    Symphonie für Streicher (Quartet No. 10), Op. 118a
    · i. Andante (5'02)
    · ii. Allegretto furioso (4'20)
    · iii. Adagio (6'10)
    · iv. Allegretto (10'22)

    Stay up to date with one click

    If you wish to get the latest updates on your favorite artists or track their next event, sign up below!

    Back to the top