Back to catalogue search

Complete Piano Sonatas, Vol.3

Paul Lewis
    • Apple Music
    • Spotify

    The first two volumes of the complete Beethoven sonatas by Paul Lewis were warmly and unanimously acclaimed by the international press:

    “Servi par une belle prise de son, l'excellent jeune pianiste anglais Paul Lewis poursuit son intégrale en développant une science du son et du chant où l'importance des nuances est privilégiée.” (Le Monde de la musique) • “Plus Beethoven avance dans le temps, plus le pianiste britannique semble trouver d'aisance, avec une ‘Waldstein’ impeccablement articulée et construite.” (Diapason) • ‘I can scarcely wait to hear the rest of this deeply serious and sensitive young pianist's epic undertaking.’(Gramophone Editor's Choice) • ‘There isn’t a bar in any of these sonatas that seem ill-considered or hastily characterised; if tempos are generally on the measured side, Lewis's sense of structure and constant awareness of what the harmonic rhythm is doing allows him to generate tension in the most subtle ways.’ (The Guardian) • "Packende, luzide, dramatisch ausgefeilte Interpretationen" (Der Spiegel) • "Man spürt es vom ersten Ton an. Hier sitzt einer am Klavier, der hat das gewisse Etwas." (NDR)

    Read more Read less



    LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN [1770-1827]
    Sonata no.1 in F minor
    fa mineur / f-moll op.2 no.1

    · I. Allegro (4'31)
    · II. Adagio (4'39)
    · III. Menuetto. Allegretto (3'31)
    · IV. Prestissimo (5'22)
    Sonata no.2 in A major
    La majeur / A-dur op.2 no.2

    · I. Allegro vivace (7'28)
    · II. Largo appassionato (6'09)
    · III. Scherzo. Allegretto (3'48)
    · IV. Rondo. Grazioso (7'11)
    Sonata no.3 in C major
    Ut majeur / C-dur op.2 no.3

    · I. Allegro con brio (10'36)
    · II. Adagio (7'13)
    · III. Scherzo (3'22)
    · IV. Allegro assai (5'36)

    Sonata no.4 in E flat major
    Mi bémol majeur / Es-dur op.7

    · I. Allegro molto e con brio (8'29)
    · II. Largo con gran espressione (8'10)
    · III. Allegro (5'30)
    · IV. Rondo. Poco allegretto e grazioso (7'58)
    Sonata no.22 in F major
    Fa majeur / F-dur op.54

    · I. In tempo di minuetto (6'09)
    · II. Allegretto (6'38)
    Sonata no.23 "Appassionata" in F minor
    fa mineur / f-moll op.57

    · I. Allegro assai (10'25)
    · II. Andante con moto (5'46)
    · III. Allegro ma non troppo (8'38)

    Sonata no.12 "Marcia funebre" in A flat major
    La bémol majeur / As-dur op.26

    · I. Andante con variazioni (8'45)
    · II. Scherzo. Allegro molto (3'12)
    · III. Marcia funebre "sulla morte d'un Eroe" (5'41)
    · IV. Allegro (3'38)
    Sonata no.13 "Quasi una Fantasia" in E flat major
    Mi bémol majeur / Es-dur op.27 no.1

    · I. Andante (4'55)
    · II. Allegro molto e vivace (2'09)
    · III. Adagio con espressione (2'42)
    · IV. Finale. Allegro vivace (5'54)
    Sonata no.14 "Moonlight" in C sharp minor
    ut dièse mineur / cis-moll op.27 no.2

    · I. Adagio sostenuto (5'15)
    · II. Allegretto (2'19)
    · III. Presto agitato (7'38)

    Stay up to date with one click

    If you wish to get the latest updates on your favorite artists or track their next event, sign up below!

    Back to the top