Back to catalogue search

20th cent. Cello Concertos: Mantovani, Schoeller, Amy

Jean-Guihen Queyras
1 CD
    • Apple Music

    Three composers, three masterworks of our time performed by three orchestras – and a central element, the moving spirit behind this fine project devoted to the concertante cello: Jean-Guihen Queyras, voted ‘Artist of the Year 2008’ in Diapason. Three sometimes very different, yet at the same time highly complementary ways of conceiving the concerto in the 21st century.

    Jean-Guihen Queyras plays a cello by Gioffredo Cappa, 1696. 

    Read more Read less


    • Bruno Mantovani
    • Philippe Schoeller
    • Gilbert Amy


    · Concerto pour violoncelle et orchestre (18'36)
    The eyes of the wind
    Concerto pour violoncelle et orchestre

    · I. Largo assai misterioso ma luminoso (8'56)
    · II. Allegretto subito (3'16)
    · III. Poco più Allegretto subito (3'12)
    · IV. A tempo (4'45)
    GILBERT AMY [1936-]
    Concerto pour violoncelle et orchestre
    · I. Modéré, quasi improvisé (3'00)
    · II. Allegro giusto (6'25)
    · III. Aérien, suspendu, quasi senza tempo (3'27)
    · IV. "Solo" (2'35)
    · V. Assez vite (5'03)
    · VI. Lent, solennel (4'33)
    · VII. (4'58)

    Stay up to date with one click

    If you wish to get the latest updates on your favorite artists or track their next event, sign up below!

    Back to the top