Back to catalogue search

Piano Sonatas Nos. 2, 6 & 8

Alexander Melnikov
1 CD
    • Apple Music

    Student and master.
    In this first volume of a complete cycle of the Prokofiev sonatas, his compatriot Alexander Melnikov reveals three emblematic works. The brilliant Second Sonata dates from 1912, when its composer was still a student at the St Petersburg Conservatory. With the Sixth (1939) and Eighth (1944) we meet the master in his full maturity, plunged in the darkest years of the Great Terror and the war. Echoes of his music for the theatre, lyricism and violence mingle amid ultra-virtuoso pianism.

    Read more Read less


    SERGEY PROKOFIEV [1891-1953]
    Piano Sonata No. 2  in D Minor, Op. 14
    · I. Allegro, ma non troppo (5'31)
    · II. Scherzo. Allegro marcato (1'55)
    · III. Andante (4'54)
    · IV. Vivace (4'23)
    Piano Sonata No. 6  in A Major Op. 82
    · I. Allegro moderato (7'26)
    · II. Allegretto (4'13)
    · III. Tempo di valzer lentissimo (7'10)
    · IV. Vivace (6'28)
    Piano Sonata No. 8  in B-flat Major Op. 84
    · I. Andante dolce - Allegro moderato (13'22)
    · II. Andante sognando (4'44)
    · III. Vivace (9'51)

    Stay up to date with one click

    If you wish to get the latest updates on your favorite artists or track their next event, sign up below!

    Back to the top