Back to catalogue search

Sinfonia Concertante. Sonata for cello and piano op.119

Bruno Philippe, Tanguy de Williencourt, Frankfurt Radio Symphony, Christoph Eschenbach
1 CD
  • Apple Music
  • Spotify

With this new album devoted to Prokofiev, cellist Bruno Philippe continues his exploration of Russian music. Having already recorded a recital of Rachmaninov’s and Myaskovsky’s Sonatas with Jérôme Ducros, here he is reunited with his long-time musical partner Tanguy de Williencourt on the piano, but also with his mentor, conductor Christoph Eschenbach leading the hr-Sinfonieorchester Frankfurt. On the program, Prokofiev’s (surprisingly?) romantic cello sonata, coupled with his Sinfonia concertante, that Mount Everest of technical challenges – both works having been written for the great Rostropovitch, who gave them their first performances in 1950 and 1952.

Read more Read less


  • Cello
  • Tanguy de Williencourt
  • Frankfurt Radio Symphony
  • Christoph Eschenbach


Sinfonia concertante, Op. 125
E Minor / mi mineur / e-Moll

· I. Andante (11'41)
· II. Allegro giusto (18'27)
· III. Andante con moto - Allegretto (poco meno mosso) (10'52)
Sonata for cello and piano, Op. 119
C Major / Ut majeur / C-Dur

· I. Andante grave - Moderato animato (11'49)
· II. Moderato - Andante dolce (4'52)
· III. Allegro, ma non troppo - Meno mosso (8'08)

Stay up to date with one click

If you wish to get the latest updates on your favorite artists or track their next event, sign up below!

Back to the top