Back to catalogue search

Sonata in B minor. Four Little Pieces. La Lugubre Gondola, etc.

Paul Lewis
    • Apple Music

    This CD presents the two faces of Franz Liszt: the Sonata in B minor shows us a forty-year-old virtuoso, overflowing with enthusiasm – an exuberance much more evident in the work’s form than in its character. Thirty years later, it is an entirely different man who opens his heart in La lugubre gondola, Unstern and Schlaflos: in the meantime, the old man has lost his lovers and friends, and confesses to an inextinguishable ‘bitterness of heart’.
    This title was released for the first time in 2004.

    Read more Read less




    FRANZ LISZT [1811-1886]
    Sonate en si mineur / B minor / h-moll
    · Lento assai (12'04)
    · Andante sostenuto (7'22)
    · Allegro energico (10'44)
    · Trübe Wolken / Nuages gris (2'34)
    · Richard Wagner. Venezia Lento assai (2'47)
    · Unstern! Sinistre, disastro Lento (4'12)
    Quatre Petites Pièces pour piano
    Four Little Piano Pieces
    Vier kleine Klavierstücke

    · Adagio (2'19)
    · Moderato (1'53)
    · Adagio (1'35)
    · Andantino (1'32)
    · En rêve, nocturne Andantino (2'34)
    · Schlaflos! Frage und Antwort
    Insomnie ! Question et réponse (2'49)
    · La lugubre gondola, version 2
    Die Trauergondel, version 2 (7'19)

    Stay up to date with one click

    If you wish to get the latest updates on your favorite artists or track their next event, sign up below!

    Back to the top