Back to catalogue search

String Trio - Four Songs of Solitude - Songs America Loves to Sing

Camerata Pacifica
    • Apple Music

    Three facets of John Harbison.
    One of the most celebrated and wide-ranging American composers of our time, John Harbison (b. 1938) has an abiding interest in American jazz, folksong, and hymns, which can be heard in his collection of solos and canons Songs America Loves to Sing (2004), presented here alongside Four Songs of Solitude (1985) for solo violin, and the world premiere recording of the String Trio (2013), commissioned and performed by members of Camerata Pacifica.

    Read more Read less


    • Camerata Pacifica
      Chamber ensemble


    • John Harbison


    JOHN HARBISON [1938-]
    String Trio
    · I. Allegro moderato (6'28)
    · II. Adagio, appassionato (5'04)
    · III. Intermezzo: Allegretto (3'39)
    · IV. Variations: Molto moderato (6'02)
    · V. Intermezzo: Allegro arieggiato (4'36)
    · VI. Finale: Allegro moderato (4'34)
    Four Songs of Solitude
    · I. (3'28)
    · II. (2'50)
    · III. (4'20)
    · IV. (4'18)
    Songs America Loves to Sing
    · I. Amazing Grace (2'09)
    · II. Careless Love (2'19)
    · III. Will the Circle Be Unbroken (1'25)
    · IV. Aura Lee (1'32)
    · V. What a Friend We Have in Jesus (3'22)
    · VI. St. Louis Blues (2'05)
    · VII. Poor Butterfly (4'45)
    · VIII. We Shall Overcome (2'01)
    · IX. Ain't Goin' to Study War No Mo' (2'40)
    · X. Anniversary Song (2'29)

    Stay up to date with one click

    If you wish to get the latest updates on your favorite artists or track their next event, sign up below!

    Back to the top