Back to catalogue search

Symphonie fantastique, transcribed for four-hand piano on Pleyel vis-à-vis (1928)

Jean-François Heisser, Marie-Josèphe Jude
1 CD
    • Apple Music
    • Spotify

    A double dose of fantastic!
    A composition that marked the birth of the modern symphony orchestra, it was instead through the medium of the piano that Symphonie fantastique became generally known to the public when Franz Liszt – a prime champion of the music of his friend, Hector Berlioz – made a transcription of the work for solo keyboard. The project undertaken here by Jean-François Heisser and Marie-Josèphe Jude continues that respected tradition, but it doubles the stakes and multiplies the pleasure: the expanded sound palette offered by the two-keyboard piano constructed by Pleyel and housed at Paris’s Museum of Music gives rise to unexpected colours emanating from the shared resonator box, and their fingerings (twenty fingers strong) can reproduce the minutest details of Berlioz’s dazzling, ground-breaking orchestral writing. The work of a master indeed!

    Read more Read less


    • Jean-François Heisser
    • Marie-Josèphe Jude


    HECTOR BERLIOZ [1803-1869]
    · 1. Rêveries - Passions (14'42)
    · 2. Un bal (6'09)
    · 3. Scène aux champs (14'22)
    · 4. Marche au supplice (6'41)
    · 5. Songe d'une nuit de sabbat (10'37)

    Stay up to date with one click

    If you wish to get the latest updates on your favorite artists or track their next event, sign up below!

    Back to the top