Back to catalogue search

The Seven Last Words of Christ Hob.XX:2 (string quartet version)

Cuarteto Casals
1 CD
    • Apple Music

    An instrumental ‘oratorio’
    Haydn wrote his Seven Last Words in 1786/87 for Good Friday devotions in Cádiz. The task of composing a purely instrumental  ‘oratorio’ consisting of seven contemplative slow movements was by no means an easy one; but the outcome was a work of sublime nobility, which in Haydn’s own transcription for string quartet has enjoyed unfailing popularity ever since.

    Read more Read less



    JOSEPH HAYDN [1732-1809]
    · Introduzione. Maestoso ed adagio (5'18)
    · Sonata I. Vater, vergib ihnen. Largo (5'48)
    · Sonata II. Fürwahr, ich sag' es dir. Grave e cantabile (8'21)
    · Sonata III. Frau, hier siehe deinen Sohn. Grave (9'24)
    · Sonata IV. Mein Gott, mein Gott, warum hast du mich verlassen? Largo (6'38)
    · Sonata V. Jesus rufet: Ach, mich dürstet! Adagio (8'46)
    · Sonata VI. Es ist vollbracht. Lento (7'39)
    · Sonata VII. Vater, in deine Hände empfehle ich meinen Geist. Largo (6'30)
    · Terremoto. Presto e con tutta la forza (1'45)

    Stay up to date with one click

    If you wish to get the latest updates on your favorite artists or track their next event, sign up below!

    Back to the top