Back to catalogue search
Best seller

Violin Concerto. The Hebrides. Symphony No.5 "Reformation"

Isabelle Faust, Freiburer Barockorchester, Pablo Heras-Casado
1 CD
    • Apple Music

    After the mystical 'Hebrides' Overture and the masterly ‘Reformation’ Symphony, Mendelssohn embarked on his second violin concerto. After a long gestation in which he polished the orchestration and meticulously revised the solo part, the work was finally premiered in Leipzig in 1845. From David to Joachim, virtuosos honed the violin part with the composer over successive revivals, leaving to posterity traces of their playing style: fingering, bowing and score markings. This precious heritage has been scrutinised by Isabelle, as she did for her Brahms Violin Concerto recording, as a previously unexploited expressive resource. Isabelle Faust, accompanied by the Freiburger Barockorchester, in top form, under the direction of Pablo Heras-Casado, offers us a miracle of purity and lyricism in a freshly-minted interpretation that fulfils Mendelssohn’s promise of ‘a concerto to make the angels rejoice in heaven’!

    Read more Read less


    Violin Concerto op. 64
    in E Minor / mi mineur / e-Moll

    · I. Allegro molto appassionato (11'21)
    · II. Andante - Allegretto non troppo (8'09)
    · III. Allegro molto vivace (5'37)
    · The Hebrides op. 26
    in B Minor / si mineur / h-Moll (9'48)
    Symphony No. 5 op. 107
    in D Minor / ré mineur / d-Moll

    · I. Andante. Allegro con fuoco (10'32)
    · II. Allegro vivace (4'53)
    · III. Andante (3'24)
    · IV. Choral: "Ein fest Burg" - Andante con moto - Allegro vivace - Allegro maestoso (7'51)

    Stay up to date with one click

    If you wish to get the latest updates on your favorite artists or track their next event, sign up below!

    Back to the top