Back to artist search

Timothy Ridout

Biography

Timothy Ridout, a former BBC New Generation Artist, Borletti-Buitoni Trust fellow, and winner of the Royal Philharmonic Society 2023 Young Artist Award, is one of the most sought-after violists of his generation. The 2023-24 season sees him join WDR Sinfonieorchester Köln, Orchestre national du Capitole de Toulouse and Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra alongside the likes of Péter Eötvös, Kazuki Yamada and Sir Simon Rattle. Further highlights include his return to America with Camerata Pacifica and Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, his debut with Royal Northern Sinfonia, and a plethora of exciting chamber music concerts.

Recent seasons have seen Ridout appear with BBC Symphony Orchestra, Tokyo Metroplitan Symphony Orchestra, Odense Symphony Orchestra, Nederlands Kamerorkest, hr-Sinfonieorchester, Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Hamburger Symphoniker, Orchestre National de Lille, Camerata Salzburg, Orchestre de chambre de Lausanne, The Hallé, BBC Philharmonic and Philharmonia Orchestra. Across his engagements he has worked with conductors such as Sakari Oramo, Lionel Bringuier, Sylvain Cambreling, Nicholas Collon and Sir András Schiff, and performed as far and wide as South America and Australia. In 2020, Ridout won Hamburger Symphoniker’s inaugural Sir-Jeffrey-Tate-Prize and in 2021, he joined the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center’s Bowers Program.

An iconic chamber musician, Ridout continues to present both solo and ensemble programs across venues such as Wigmore Hall, Concertgebouw Amsterdam and Alice Tully Hall. In the 2023/24 season, Ridout appears frequently at Wigmore Hall, returning to the venue multiple times with a selection of leading names including Benjamin Grosvenor, Hyeyoon Park, Kian Soltani, Janine Jansen, Daniel Blendulf and Denis Kozhukhin, building on his existing collaborations with artists like Joshua Bell, Isabelle Faust, Christian Tetzlaff, Nicolas Altstaedt and Steven Isserlis. He also continues to collaborate with Tim Posner and Tim Crawford as part of Teyber Trio as well as performing recitals with pianists Frank Dupree and Jonathan Ware.

Ridout regularly records for the Harmonia Mundi label. His latest release, recorded with Martyn Brabbins and BBC Symphony Orchestra, features Lionel Tertis’s arrangement of Elgar’s Cello Concerto for viola and orchestra and Ernest Bloch’s Suite for Viola and Orchestra. It builds on his already impressive discography comprising works by Prokofiev and Schumann on A Poet’s Love and a recording of Berlioz’s Harold en Italie with John Nelson and Orchestre philharmonique de Strasbourg across various albums.

Born in London in 1995, Ridout studied at the Royal Academy of Music, graduating with the Queen’s Commendation for Excellence. He completed his Masters at the Kronberg Academy with Nobuko Imai in 2019 and, in 2018, took part in Kronberg Academy’s Chamber Music Connects the World.

He plays on a viola by Peregrino di Zanetto c.1565–75 on loan from a generous patron of Beare's International Violin Society.

 

Bruce Adolphe
Bella Hristova
Sihao He

Purchase, New York, US

Bruce Adolphe
Bella Hristova
Sihao He

Grand Rapids, New York, US

Chad Hoopes
Bella Hristova
Matthew Lipman
Sihao He

Vienna, Virginia, US

Chad Hoopes
Bella Hristova
Matthew Lipman
Sihao He

Purchase, New York, US

Ting-Ru Lai
Maria Wloszczowska
Tim Crawford
Tim Posner

London, GB

Orchestra I Pomeriggi Musicali
Jessica Cottis

Milano, IT

Orchestra I Pomeriggi Musicali
Jessica Cottis

Milano, IT

Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks
Sir Simon Rattle

München, DE

Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks
Sir Simon Rattle

München, DE

Stephen Waarts
Marie-Elisabeth Hecker

London, GB

Updated May 2023

Stay up to date with one click

If you wish to get the latest updates on your favorite artists or track their next event, sign up below!

Back to the top

Retour aux artistes

Timothy Ridout

Biographie

Timothy Ridout est l’un des altistes les plus convoités de sa génération : il a été jeune talent de la BBC New Generation Artist, titulaire d’une bourse du Borletti-Buitoni Trust et lauréat du Royal Philharmonic Society Young Artist Award en 2023. Pour la saison 2023-2024, il se joindra à l’Orchestre symphonique de la WDR de Cologne, à l’Orchestre national du Capitole de Toulouse et à l’Orchestre symphonique de la Radio bavaroise, aux côtés de chefs aussi célèbres que Péter Eötvös, Kazuki Yamada et Sir Simon Rattle. Parmi les autres événements marquants de cette saison, il convient de citer son retour aux États-Unis avec l’ensemble Camerata Pacifica et la Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, ses débuts avec le Royal Northern Sinfonia et de nombreux concerts de musique de chambre très prometteurs.

Au cours de ces dernières saisons, il s’est produit avec l’Orchestre symphonique de la BBC, l’Orchestre symphonique métropolitain de Tokyo, l’Orchestre symphonique d’Odense, le Nederlands Kamerorkest, le hr-Sinfonieorchester, l’Orchestre de la Tonhalle de Zurich, le Chamber Orchestra of Europe, le Hamburger Symphoniker, l’Orchestre national de Lille, la Camerata Salzburg, l’Orchestre de chambre de Lausanne, l’Orchestre Hallé, le BBC Philharmonic et le Philharmonia de Londres. Dans le cadre de ses engagements, qui l’ont conduit jusqu’en Amérique du Sud et en Australie, il a travaillé avec de nombreux chefs d’orchestre, dont Sakari Oramo, Lionel Bringuier, Sylvain Cambreling, Nicholas Collon et Sir András Schiff. En 2020, Timothy Ridout a remporté le premier prix Sir-Jeffrey-Tate du Hamburger Symphoniker et il a rejoint, en 2021, les jeunes artistes du programme Bowers de la Chamber Music Society du Lincoln Center.

Musicien de chambre déjà emblématique, Timothy Ridout continue à se produire en solo ou en ensemble dans des salles telles que le Wigmore Hall, le Concertgebouw d’Amsterdam et le Alice Tully Hall. Au cours de la saison 2023-2024, on le retrouvera à plusieurs reprises au Wigmore Hall avec quelques-uns des grands noms de la musique, notamment Benjamin Grosvenor, Hyeyoon Park, Kian Soltani, Janine Jansen, Daniel Blendulf, Denis Kozhukhin, et ses non moins célèbres collaborateurs réguliers, Joshua Bell, Isabelle Faust, Christian Tetzlaff, Nicolas Altstaedt et Steven Isserlis. Il continue également à jouer au sein du Teyber Trio avec Tim Posner et Tim Crawford et à donner des récitals avec les pianistes Frank Dupree et Jonathan Ware.

Timothy Ridout enregistre régulièrement pour le label harmonia mundi. Son dernier disque, avec Martyn Brabbins et l’Orchestre symphonique de la BBC, comprend le Concerto pour violoncelle d’Edward Elgar arrangé pour alto et orchestre par Lionel Tertis et la Suite pour alto et orchestre d’Ernest Bloch. Cette dernière production vient s’ajouter à une discographie déjà impressionnante, qui comprend entre autres l’album A Poet’s Love avec des œuvres de Prokofiev et de Schumann, ou encore un enregistrement d’Harold en Italie de Berlioz avec John Nelson et l’Orchestre philharmonique de Strasbourg.

Né à Londres en 1995, Timothy Ridout a fait ses études à la Royal Academy of Music de Londres et a obtenu son diplôme avec la mention d’excellence de la Reine. Il a achevé son master à l’Académie Kronberg avec Nobuko Imai en 2019, après avoir participé, en 2018, au programme Chamber Music Connects the World de cette même Académie.

Il joue sur un alto de Peregrino di Zanetto (vers 1565-1575), prêté par un généreux mécène de la Beare’s International Violin Society.

Ting-Ru Lai
Maria Wloszczowska
Tim Crawford
Tim Posner

London, GB

Orchestra I Pomeriggi Musicali
Jessica Cottis

Milano, IT

Orchestra I Pomeriggi Musicali
Jessica Cottis

Milano, IT

Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks
Sir Simon Rattle

München, DE

Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks
Sir Simon Rattle

München, DE

Stephen Waarts
Marie-Elisabeth Hecker

London, GB

Mise à jour mai 2023

L’actualité des artistes en un clic

Vous souhaitez être régulièrement informé.e.s des activités de vos artistes préférés,
inscrire leurs concerts à votre agenda : inscrivez-vous ici !

Haut de page