Benjamin Alard presents

The Capriccio sopra la lontananza del fratello dilettissimo is one of the most astonishing works by the young Johann Sebastian Bach. I would like to share with you my personal vision of this luminous and delicate piece – for the first time performed on the organ! 

Histoiry of the Capriccio

Capriccio on the departure of a beloved brother

The Capriccio BWV 992 is a programmatic work depicting the different states of emotion which Bach experienced when taking leave of his beloved brother, Johann Jakob. This piece for keyboard with or without pedalboard, in the key of B-flat major, was probably composed around 1704 in Ohrdruf. Bach was then roughly 19 years old.  The original manuscript  is housed at Berlin’s Staatsbibliothek. 

EPISODE 1, To tell a story

1. Arioso, Adagio

His friends gather and try to dissuade him from leaving.

Listen to Episode 1

The Capriccio seems to be modelled on the example of the six Biblical Sonatas of Johann Kuhnau (1660-1722). Soon to be Bach’s predecessor at Leipzig’s Thomaskirche, Kuhnau had published his Musicalische Vorstellung einiger Biblischer Historien (Musical Representation of Several Biblical Stories) in 1700, the fourth of which, the Suonata quarta Hiskia agonizzante e risanato) is included in the box set “The Young Heir”, the first volume of my complete cycle of J. S. Bach’s Complete Works for Keyboard.

The title Capriccio (caprice) which the young J.S. Bach had chosen, makes us think of similarly-named works of Girolamo Frescobaldi, Johann Jakob Froberger, and François Roberday, who at the time used the title to describe a work fairly free in form or sometimes fugal in texture. Just like Kuhnau, Bach supplies a descriptive text in German (this time non-biblical) to accompany each movement. This text, already explicit from its title, describes the various incidents and emotions that the composer experiences following the departure of his brother, Johann Jakob – a professional oboist who had chosen to join the army of Charles XII, at the Court of Sweden. The first movement of this piece is quite melancholy; it is intended to express the friendly pressure from Johann Jakob’s friends wishing to dissuade him from leaving.

EPISODE 2, Dangers ahead

2. A depiction of the calamities that could befall him.

Listen to Episode 2

Benjamin Alard describes the elements which the young Bach employed to paint a musical depiction of the dangers his brother was bound to encounter on his journey. The choice of performing this work on the organ demonstrates, especially in this movement, how much is gained in intensity and characterisation. To illustrate, Benjamin Alard plays the instrument at the Église Sainte-Aurélie in Strasbourg – an Andreas Silbermann organ restored by Quentin Blumenroeder.

EPISODE 3, Lamento Adagiosissimo

3. Adagiosissimo.

A general lament of his friends.

Listen to Episode 3

The Lamento, composed in the mournful and stark key of F minor, features a basso ostinato typical of Italian examples of the genre which we are often found in operatic works containing dark, dramatic, or plaintive episodes. The key Bach has chosen here is meant to bring tears to our eyes and to make us feel the heartbreak caused by his loss of a beloved brother. Here we also have the use of an unmetered style: following the lamento, a recitative offers a kind of resolution after the distress. Tears were shed, but in the end everyone wants wish good luck to his friend or brother! This is indicated by a lovely cadential figure in F major – the key that introduces the ensuing Aria of the Postilion.

EPISODE 4, Recitative: the resolution

4. His friends gather and, since he cannot be dissuaded, bid him farewell.

Listen to Episode 4

For the young Johann Sebastian, who had lost his parents at an early age and was extremely attached to his elder brothers (and, in fact, raised by them), this movement gives an idea of how keenly Bach must have felt this departure as a loss – and perhaps experienced it inwardly on a biblical scale.

Here we also have the use of an unmetered style: following the lamento, a recitative offers a kind of resolution after the distress. Tears were shed, but in the end everyone wants wish good luck to his friend or brother! This is indicated by a lovely cadential figure in F major – the key that introduces the ensuing Aria of the Postilion.

EPISODE 5, Aria of the Postilion and conclusion

5. & 6. Allegro poco,

Aria del Postiglione & Fuga all’imitazione di Posta.

Listen to Episode 5

Benjamin explains why Bach’s music, notably the Capriccio, leaves a powerful imprint on the performer: a physical experience that brings one in contact with every forceful gesture of his writing...

Benjamin Alard présente

Le Capriccio sopra la lontananza del fratello dilettissimo est l'une des œuvres les plus étonnantes du jeune Johann Sebastian Bach. Je vous confie ma vision personnelle de cette pièce lumineuse et sensible – interprétée de manière inédite à l’orgue ! 

Histoire du Capriccio

Capriccio sopra la lontananza del fratello dilettissimo

Le Capriccio BWV 992 est une œuvre descriptive qui raconte les différents états de Bach confronté au départ de son frère bien-aimé, Johann Jakob. Cette pièce, en si bémol majeur pour clavier avec ou sans pédalier, a été composée probablement vers 1704 à Ohrdruf. Bach avait alors environ 19 ans.  La source originale  est conservée à Berlin (Staatsbibliothek). 

ÉPISODE 1, Raconter une histoire

1. Arioso, Adagio

Ses amis tentent de le dissuader de partir.

Ecouter le premier épisode

Le Capriccio est conçu d’après le modèle des sonates bibliques de Johann Kuhnau (1660-1722). Futur prédécesseur de Bach à l’église Saint-Thomas de Leipzig, Kuhnau avait édité en 1700 Six Sonates bibliques (Musicalische Vorstellung einiger Biblischer Historien / Représentation musicale de quelques histoires bibliques) dont l’une d’elles (la Suonata quarta Hiskia agonizzante e risanato) figure dans le coffret “Le Jeune Héritier”, premier tome de mon intégrale de L’Œuvre pour clavier de J. S. Bach.

Le titre de Capriccio (Caprice), choisi par le jeune J. S. Bach, nous fait penser à Girolamo Frescobaldi, Johann Jakob Froberger et François Roberday qui l’utilisaient à l’époque pour présenter une forme libre parfois fuguée. Tout comme chez Kuhnau, Bach nous livre un texte descriptif en allemand accompagnant le texte musical (cette fois non biblique). Ce texte, déjà explicite dès son titre, relate les différentes péripéties et la douleur que peut ressentir le compositeur suite au départ de son frère, Johann Jakob – musicien hautboïste qui avait choisi de s’engager dans l’armée de Charles XII, à la cour de Suède. La première pièce de cette partition est assez mélancolique ; il s’agit d’exprimer les pressions affectueuses dont font preuve les amis de Johann Jakob pour le dissuader de partir.

ÉPISODE 2, Embuscades

2. Portrait des dangers qu’il va rencontrer.

Ecouter le second épisode

Dans cette vidéo, Benjamin Alard nous explique comment le jeune Bach a peint en musique le portrait de son frère qui va rencontrer différentes embuscades lors de son voyage. Le choix de l’orgue pour interpréter cette œuvre montre, particulièrement dans cet épisode, combien on gagne en intensité et en caractère… comme le révèle ici par Benjamin Alard à l’orgue de l’église Sainte-Aurélie de Strasbourg – orgue Andreas Silbermann restauré par Quentin Blumenroeder.

ÉPISODE 3, Lamento Adagiosissimo

3. Adagiosissimo.

La lamentation des amis.

Ecouter le troisième épisode

Le Lamento, composé dans un fa mineur triste et désolée tonalité de fa mineur, offre une basse obstinée chère aux lamentos italiens qu’on retrouve aussi dans les opéras aux épisodes les plus sombres, dramatiques ou plaintifs. Un ton choisi ici par Bach pour nous faire pleurer et ressentir la douleur de la perte de ce frère tant aimé. On trouve également l’utilisation du style non mesuré : après le lamento, un récitatif offre une sorte de dénouement après la souffrance. On a tous pleuré, mais finalement, on souhaite bon courage à ce frère, ce qui aboutit à une belle cadence en fa majeur – tonalité qui introduit l’air suivant du postillon.

ÉPISODE 4, Récitatif : le dénouement

4. Comme les amis comprennent qu’ils ne peuvent le dissuader de partir, ils lui souhaitent bon vent.

Ecouter le quatrième épisode

Chez ce jeune orphelin profondément attaché à ses frères (et élevé par eux), cette pièce montre à quel point Bach ressentait très fortement ce départ comme une perte – et comme s’il s’agissait presque d’une histoire biblique, vécue intérieurement. Ce dénouement nous révèle que Bach et ses amis (qui viennent de partout pour lui dire au revoir) acceptent, après avoir souffert, ce départ inévitable et lui témoignent un bel adieu en lui souhaitant bonne chance. Après les différentes tensions ressenties notamment dans le Lamento, cette pièce introduisant l’Air du postillon se termine sur un très bel et consonant accord de la majeur, ressenti comme un apaisement.

ÉPISODE 5, Aria del Postiglione et conclusion

5. & 6. Allegro poco,

Aria del Postiglione & Fuga all’imitazione di Posta.

Ecouter le cinquième épisode

Dans cette vidéo, Benjamin Alard nous explique comment la musique de Bach, et notamment ce Capriccio, laisse une réelle empreinte dans le jeu de l’interprète : une expérience physique qui permet également de ressentir chaque trait de l’écriture avec force…