Back to catalogue search

"Arpeggione Sonata" and Sonatiina for cello and piano. With works by Berg and Webern

Jean-Guihen Queyras, Alexandre Tharaud
1 CD
    • Apple Music

    Three Viennese composers transcend their time.
    ‘Schubert’s Arpeggione Sonata has been at the heart of our repertoire ever since Alexandre Tharaud and I began to play together. Its apparently carefree luminosity cannot conceal an anguish which comes out into the open at the end of the second movement. . . . Berg assumes his dark inner demons, whereas Webern plays on sublimation and detachment. But all three share the same need for limitless confrontation with the basic elements of desire, sensuality, and death, making them almost palpable . . .’ - Jean-Guihen Queyras

    Read more Read less


    FRANZ SCHUBERT [1797-1828]
    Sonate pour arpeggione [violoncelle] et piano
    en la mineur / A minor / a-moll D.821

    · Allegro moderato (11'25)
    · Adagio (4'28)
    · Allegretto (9'05)
    · Das Wandern D.795/1 (1'04)
    · Ungeduld D.795/7 (1'27)
    ANTON WEBERN [1883-1945]
    3 Petites Pièces pour violoncelle et piano op.11
    · Mäßige Achtel (0'55)
    · Sehr bewegt (0'19)
    · Äußerst ruhig (1'08)
    FRANZ SCHUBERT [1797-1828]
    · Die Vögel D.691 (1'02)
    Sonatine pour piano et violon op. posth. 137 D.384
    · Allegro molto (4'21)
    · Andante (4'28)
    · Allegro vivace (4'02)
    · Wiegenlied / Berceuse / Lullaby D.498 (1'39)
    ALBAN BERG [1885-1935]
    4 Pièces op.5 pour violoncelle et piano
    · I. Mäßig (1'18)
    · II. Sehr langsam (2'10)
    · III. Sehr rasch (1'18)
    · IV. Langsam (2'58)
    FRANZ SCHUBERT [1797-1828]
    · Nacht und Träume op.43/2 D.827 (2'44)

    Stay up to date with one click

    If you wish to get the latest updates on your favorite artists or track their next event, sign up below!

    Back to the top