Back to catalogue search

Cello Concerto No.1. Sonata for violincello and piano op.40

Emmanuelle Bertrand, Pascal Amoyel, BBC National Orchestra of Wales, Pascal Rophé
1 CD

Excerpt:Sonata for cello and piano. Allegro non troppo

Here are two masterpieces for cello by Shostakovich, written 25 years apart. The insolent Sonata op.40 of 1934 – contemporary with Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District, the opera soon to plunge its composer into disgrace with Stalin – was answered in 1959 by the bitter self-questioning of an artist who seemed to have sunk into depression. This Cello Concerto ends with a wicked caricature of true joy, adding the final touch to the extreme polymorphism of a traumatised humorist who had long since learned not to laugh . . .

Read more Read less



Cello Concerto no.1 op.107
in E flat major / Mi bémol majeur / Es-Dur

· I. Allegretto (6'22)
· II. Moderato (12'21)
· III. Cadenza (6'20)
· IV. Allegro con moto (4'45)
Sonata for cello and piano op.40
in D minor / ré mineur / d-Moll

· I. Allegro non troppo (12'47)
· II. Allegro (3'21)
· III. Largo (9'09)
· IV. Allegro (4'35)
· Moderato for cello and piano (3'22)

Stay up to date with one click

If you wish to get the latest updates on your favorite artists or track their next event, sign up below!

Back to the top