Back to catalogue search

A Company of Voices: Conspirare in concert

Orquestra Barroca Casa da Música
    • Apple Music
    • Spotify

    This musical journey takes its title from one of William Corbett’s Bizzarie universali, a set of concertos which, in truth, owe much more to the Italian tradition than to the Iberian peninsula . . . In the Age of Enlightenment, Portuguese music shared the favours of certain English publishers with its Spanish neighbour; drinking at the inexhaustible source of the Scarlatti sonatas, Charles Avison conceived sumptuous concertos that sound extraordinarily like their contemporary equivalents written at Coimbra by Seixas. This constant exchange between Iberian chamber music and the eighteenth-century orchestra culminates in an orchestral arrangement of Boccherini’s famous Musica notturna, presented by Andreas Staier in total complicity with the Baroque orchestra of the Casa da Música de Porto.

    Read more Read less


    • Harpsichord
    • Orquestra Barroca Casa da Música
      Chamber ensemble


    • William Corbett
    • José António Carlos de Seixas
    • Domenico Scarlatti
    • Charles Avison


    WILLIAM CORBETT [1680-1748] Concerto "Alla Portugesa", op. 8 n° 7 Si bémol majeur / B-flat Major / B-Dur · I. Allegro (3'09) · II. Largo e pia[no] (4'16) · III. Allegro (2'03) JOSÉ ANTÓNIO CARLOS DE SEIXAS [1704-1742] Concerto a 4 con vv. e cimbalo obligato sol mineur / G minor / g-Moll · I. Allegro (5'25) · II. Adagio (2'39) · III. Allegro assai (6'15) DOMENICO SCARLATTI [1685-1757] · Sonata for harpsichord, K 8 sol mineur / G minor / g-Moll Allegro (2'33) · Sonata for harpsichord, K 13 Sol majeur / G major / G-Dur Presto (4'09) · Sonata for harpsichord, K 173 si mineur / B minor / h-Moll Allegro (4'44) JOSÉ ANTÓNIO CARLOS DE SEIXAS [1704-1742] Concerto a 4 con vv. e cimbalo obligato La majeur / A major / A-Dur · I. Allegro (1'52) · II. Adagio (1'07) · III. Giga. Allegro (2'16) CHARLES AVISON [1709-1770] Concerto grosso n° 5 ré mineur / D minor / d-Moll · I. Largo (2'44) · II. Allegro (1'40) · III. Andante moderato (1'40) · IV. Allegro (2'02) LUIGI BOCCHERINI [1743-1805] Quintettino "Musica Notturna delle strade di Madrid", op.30 n° 6 Ut majeur / C Major / C-Dur · I. Ave Maria. Imitando il tocco dell'Ave Maria della Parrochia (1'01) · II. Minuetto (2'09) · III. Rosario. Largo assai (4'37) · IV. Los manolos. Passa Calle. Allegro (2'00) · V. Ritirata con variazioni. Tempo di Marcia (6'20)

    Stay up to date with one click

    If you wish to get the latest updates on your favorite artists or track their next event, sign up below!

    Back to the top