Back to catalogue search

"La musica notturna di Madrid" (Quintettino G. 324)

Cuarteto Casals
    • Apple Music

    Boccherini owes his celebrity to more than just the Minuet of the Quintet op.11 no.5 (although that can be heard here too)!
    This recording proves the fact with stunning brilliance: from the castanets of the Fandango to the much more Viennese style of the String Quartet, the musicians of the Cuarteto Casals and their guests demonstrate the infinite creative resources of the composer. It culminates in the Night Music of the Streets of Madrid, a vivid example of musical realism in which, as Boccherini put it, ‘the strict rules of counterpoint’ would be out of place! 

    Read more Read less



    LUIGI BOCCHERINI [1743-1805]
    String Quintet in C major / Ut majeur / C-dur G.324, op.30 no.6 "La musica notturna delle strade di Madrid"
    · I. Il campane quando suonano l'Ave Maria - II. Il tamburo del quartier dei soldati - III. Minuetto dei ciechi (3'30)
    · IV. Il rosario: Largo assai - Allegro (4'41)
    · V. "Los manolos". Modo di suono, e canto - VI. Allegro vivo (2'19)
    · VII. Ritirata - Maestoso (3'28)
    String Quintet no.6 in E major / Mi majeur / E-dur G.275, op.11 no.5
    · I. Amoroso (4'30)
    · II. Allegro con spirito (7'17)
    · III. Minuetto - Trio (3'29)
    · IV. Andante (6'08)
    String Quartet in G minor / sol mineur / g-moll G.205, op.32 no.5
    · I. Allegro comodo (5'59)
    · II. Andantino (3'10)
    · III. Menuetto con moto - Trio (4'06)
    · IV. Allegro giusto (4'11)
    Guitar Quintet no.6 in D major / Ré majeur / D-dur G.448
    · I. Pastorale (5'25)
    · II. Allegro maestoso (6'27)
    · III. Grave assai - IV. Fandango (11'53)

    Stay up to date with one click

    If you wish to get the latest updates on your favorite artists or track their next event, sign up below!

    Back to the top