Back to catalogue search

Le Chant des Oyseaulx, Polyphonic Chansons

Ensemble Clément Janequin, Dominique Visse
    • Apple Music

    ʻIn the 16th century birdsong certainly constituted an essential aspect of that broad stream of natural imitations which runs through the musical aesthetics of the Humanist Age: Human or Artificial Music hearkened to Natural Music in an effort to copy it and thereby to raise itself to the summits of Parnassus. [ . . . ] Janequin never lost his taste for bird-song, from the first attempts of 1520 down to the last chansons of the 1550s. It is at the very core of his creative activity, at the heart of that poetic-musical game, the polyphonic chansonʼ (J.-P. Ouvrard). This recording has never left the harmonia mundi catalogue in nearly thirty years, and is still regarded as a benchmark!
    This title was released for the first time in 1985.

    Read more Read less


    • Ensemble Clément Janequin



    CLÉMENT JANEQUIN [1485-1558]
    · Le chant des oyseaulx (5'20)
    · Toutes les nuictz (2'00)
    · J'atens le temps (1'45)
    · Il estoit une fillette (1'10)
    · Las on peult juger (d'après Janequin) (3'56)
    CLÉMENT JANEQUIN [1485-1558]
    · Ung jour Colin (0'50)
    · O doulx regard, o parler (2'57)
    · Le chant de l'alouette (2'36)
    · Quand contremont verras (1'35)
    · Hellas mon Dieu ton ire (2'32)
    · Ma peine n'est pas grande (1'18)
    · O mal d'aymer (2'38)
    · Herbes et fleurs (1'31)
    · L'aveuglé Dieu (d'après Janequin) (2'36)
    CLÉMENT JANEQUIN [1485-1558]
    · A ce joy moys de may (1'20)
    · Assouvy suis (1'56)
    · Quelqu'un me disoit l'aultre jour (2'20)
    · M'y levay ung matin (1'10)
    · M'Amye a eu de Dieu (1'38)
    · Le chant du rossignol (1'55)

    Stay up to date with one click

    If you wish to get the latest updates on your favorite artists or track their next event, sign up below!

    Back to the top