Back to catalogue search

Requiem (1901 version, full orchestra). With Franck: Symphony in D minor

La Chapelle Royale, CollegiumVocale Gent, Orchestre des Champs-Elysées, Philippe Herreweghe
1 CD
    • Apple Music
    • Spotify

    Thirteen years after his memorable recording of the first version of the Fauré Requiem - an intimate version first performed by the composer in 1892, at Saint-Gervais in Paris - Philippe Herreweghe here conducts the 1901 version for full orchestra commissioned by Fauré's publisher for performance in large concert halls.
    Fauré said of this masterpiece: 'My Requiem was composed for nothing... for pleasure, if I may say so!'

    Read more Read less
    Diapason d'or


    • Johannette Zomer
    • Stephan Genz
    • La Chapelle Royale
    • Collegium Vocale Gent
      Vocal ensemble
    • Orchestre des Champs-Élysées
      Symphony Orchestra
    • Conductor


    GABRIEL FAURÉ [1845-1924] Requiem op.48 (Version pour grand orchestre) · Introït & Kyrie (7'45) · Offertoire (7'57) · Sanctus (3'29) · Pie Jesu (3'46) · Agnus Dei (4'12) · Libera me (6'59) · In paradisum (3'43)CÉSAR FRANCK [1822-1890] Symphonie en ré mineur D minor / d-moll (1888) · Lento. Allegro non troppo (17'55) · Allegretto (9'49) · Allegro non troppo (10'11)

    Stay up to date with one click

    If you wish to get the latest updates on your favorite artists or track their next event, sign up below!

    Back to the top