Back to catalogue search

Cello Concerto No. 1. Works by Franck, Fauré & Poulenc

Bruno Philippe, Tanguy de Williencourt, Frankfurt Radio Symphony, Christoph Eschenbach
1 CD
  • Apple Music
  • Spotify
  • Deezer

From the overt Romanticism of Saint-Saëns to the nostalgia-laden modernity of Poulenc, Bruno Philippe takes us on a journey through (almost) a century of French cello music. Alongside Tanguy de Williencourt, he also performs the cello version of Franck’s famous Violin Sonata, one of the absolute peaks of nineteenth-century chamber music.

Read more Read less
Sound quality


  • Cello
  • Tanguy de Williencourt
  • Frankfurt Radio Symphony
    Chamber ensemble
  • Christoph Eschenbach


Gabriel FAURÉ (1845-1924) Romance Op. 69 (3'34)César FRANCK (1822-1890) Violin Sonata FWV 8 A major / La majeur / A-Dur (transcription for cello and piano by Jules Delsart) · I. Allegretto ben moderato (6'20) · II. Allegro (8'31) · III. Recitativo-Fantasia. Ben moderato - Molto lento (7'39) · IV. Allegretto poco mosso (6'27)Camille SAINT-SAËNS (1835-1921)  Cello Concerto No. 1 Op. 33 A minor / La mineur / a-Moll · I. Allegro non troppo (6'00) · II. Allegretto con moto (5'34) · III. Molto allegro (9'07)Gabriel FAURÉ Papillon Op. 77 (3'07)Francis POULENC (1899-1963) Cello Sonata FP 143 ·  I. Allegro - Tempo di Marcia (5'56) · II. Cavatine (6'13) · III. Ballabile (3'28) · IV. Finale © Heugel & Cie (6'45)Gabriel FAURÉ Après un rêve Op. 7 No. 1 (2'57) (transcription for cello and piano)


Stay up to date with one click

If you wish to get the latest updates on your favorite artists or track their next event, sign up below!

Back to the top