Back to catalogue search

String Quartet op.51 No.1. Piano Quintet

Arcanto-Quartett, Silke Avenhaus
    • Apple Music

    Brahms had passed the age of forty before he finally deemed a string quartet worthy of appearing in his catalogue, as op.51. Thus he joined those composers who, like Mendelssohn, Schumann and Dvořák, had succeeded in freeing themselves from the heritage of Beethoven in this genre. The work is extremely demanding for its performers, as is the Piano Quintet op.34.

    Read more Read less


    • Arcanto Quartett
    • Silke Avenhaus


    JOHANNES BRAHMS [1833-1897]
    String Quartet no.1, op.51 no.1 in C minor / ut mineur / c-moll
    · I. Allegro (10'43)
    · II. Romanze, poco adagio (6'23)
    · III. Allegretto molto moderato e comodo (8'04)
    · IV. Allegro, alla breve (5'32)
    Piano Quintet, op.34 in F minor / fa mineur / f-moll
    · I. Allegro non troppo (15'05)
    · II. Andante, un poco adagio (8'28)
    · III. Scherzo, allegro (7'15)
    · IV. Finale, poco sostenuto. Allegro non troppo (10'40)

    Stay up to date with one click

    If you wish to get the latest updates on your favorite artists or track their next event, sign up below!

    Back to the top