Back to catalogue search

Symphonie fantastique. Les Francs-Juges, Overture

Les Siècles, François-Xavier Roth
1 CD
    • Apple Music
    • Spotify

    Drawing on various themes dear to the early Romantic movement of the 1820s, the Symphonie Fantastique turned the rules of a classical symphony on their head – to better serve Berlioz’s intentions. This new reading by the ensemble Les Siècles is based on a close study of the composer’s autograph score and benefits from an intimate familiarity with period instruments, which here include the church bell of his hometown, La-Côte Saint-André! The Fantastique includes passages from an early operatic effort he left unfinished: Les Francs-Juges, only the overture to which has come down to us – a piece François-Xavier Roth deems worthy of being placed alongside Berlioz’s more famous symphonic works we cherish today.

    Read more Read less


    HECTOR BERLIOZ [1803-1869]
    Symphonie Fantastique, op. 14, H. 48
    C Major / Ut majeur / C-Dur

    · I. Rêveries - Passions (14'19)
    · II. Un bal (6'54)
    · III. Scène aux champs (15'08)
    · IV. Marche au supplice (6'20)
    · V. Songe d'une nuit de sabbat (9'46)
    · Grande Ouverture des francs-juges, op. 3, H.23 (12'00)


    Stay up to date with one click

    If you wish to get the latest updates on your favorite artists or track their next event, sign up below!

    Back to the top