Back to catalogue search

Symphony No.5

Orchestre National de l'ORTF, Hermann Scherchen
1 CD


An opera for orchestra.
At the centre of his great orchestral works, the Fifth Symphony marks Mahler’s return to a purely orchestral concept. And yet the voice seems implicitly present in a movement like the famous Adagietto, made familiar throughout the world by Visconti’s film Death in Venice. It is a work that measures up to the stature of Hermann Scherchen, one of the legendary conductors of the 20th century.

This title was released for the first time in 1988.

Read more Read less


  • Orchestre National de l’ORTF
  • Hermann Scherchen


GUSTAV MAHLER [1860-1911]
· Trauermarsch. In gemessenem Schritt, streng, wie ein Kondukt (10'51)
· Stürmisch bewegt. Mit größter Vehemenz (13'12)
· Scherzo (Kräftig, nicht zu schnell) (5'35)
· Adagietto (Sehr langsam) (13'07)
· Rondo-Finale (Allegro) (10'20)

Stay up to date with one click

If you wish to get the latest updates on your favorite artists or track their next event, sign up below!

Back to the top