Back to catalogue search

Symphony No. 5

Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Daniel Harding
1 CD
    • Apple Music
    • Spotify

    For the second installment in his Mahler cycle for harmonia mundi, Daniel Harding revisits a symphony which clearly represents a turning point in the composer’s output. The years following Mahler’s early period (marked by Des Knaben Wunderhorn) saw the production of works of ever greater complexity and sardonicism, which show no trace of naïveté. Within a framework of utmost intricacy, the themes, musical gestures, and building blocks (for instance, the interval of a minor third which opens the Fifth Symphony’s famous Adagietto) trace a journey from darkness to light which culminates in the striking modernity of the finale.

    Read more Read less
    Top Mezzo Award


    GUSTAV MAHLER [1860-1911]
    · Part I
    1. Trauermarsch. In gemessenem Schritt. Streng. Wie ein Kondukt (12'20)
    · 2. Stürmisch bewegt. Mit größter Vehemenz (14'17)
    · Part II
    3. Scherzo. Kräftig, nicht zu schnell (18'00)
    · Part III
    4. Adagietto. Sehr langsam (10'55)
    · 5. Rondo-Finale. Allegro (15'10)

    Stay up to date with one click

    If you wish to get the latest updates on your favorite artists or track their next event, sign up below!

    Back to the top