Back to catalogue search

Symphony No. 5

Gürzenich-Orchester Köln, François-Xavier Roth
1 CD
    • Apple Music

    Immortalized in Luchino Visconti’s masterpiece “Death in Venice”, Mahler’s Symphony No. 5 (with its unforgettable Adagietto) today needs no introduction. Except to point out that the composer himself led its premiere some 113 years ago, conducting the Gürzenich Orchestra of Cologne. For this recording, the modern-day players comprising the very same ensemble are led by the city’s newly appointed General Music Director, François-Xavier Roth, which patently places this version in a class of its own.

    Read more Read less



    GUSTAV MAHLER [1860-1911]
    · I. Trauermarsch. In gemessenem Schritt. Streng. Wie ein Kondukt (12'20)
    · II. Stürmisch bewegt. Mit größter Vehemenz (14'17)
    · III. Scherzo. Kräftig, nicht zu schnell (18'00)
    · IV. Adagietto. Sehr langsam (10'55)
    · V. Rondo-Finale. Allegro (15'10)

    Stay up to date with one click

    If you wish to get the latest updates on your favorite artists or track their next event, sign up below!

    Back to the top