Back to catalogue search

A Midsummer Night's Dream

Orchestre des Champs-Elysées, Philippe Herreweghe
1 CD
    • Apple Music
    • Spotify

    ‘With baroque music as “flavour of the age”, it seems only natural that we should rediscover – indeed reappraise – all that is neat, winsome and uncluttered in Mendelssohn’s music, its slender forms and high level of invention. (…) Herreweghe’s lively offering is best recommended to those whose main priority is a sense of period orchestral texture’ Gramophone ‘…one of the lightest performances of the work that I have ever heard.’ Fanfare
    This title was released for the first time in 1994.

    Read more Read less


    • Sandrine Piau
    • Delphine Collot
    • La Chapelle Royale
    • Collegium Vocale Gent
    • Orchestre des Champs-Élysées
    • Conductor


    Ein Sommernachtstraum Songe d'une nuit d'été A Midsummer Night's Dream · Ouvertüre. Allegro di molto (12'23) · Scherzo. Allegro vivace (4'57) · Elfenmarsch / Marche des Elfes. Allegro vivace (1'21) · Lied mit Chor "Bunte Schlangen, zweigezüngt!". Allegro ma non troppo (4'09) · Intermezzo. Allegro appassionato (3'27) · Notturno. Con moto tranquillo (5'29) · Hochzeitsmarsch / Marche nuptiale. Allegro vivace (4'40) · Fanfare. Allegro comodo (0'24) · Marcia funebre. Andante comodo (1'16) · Ein Tanz von Rüppeln / Danse bergamasque. Allegro di molto (1'42) · Finale "Bei des Feuers mattem Flimmern". Allegro di molto (4'44) Ouvertüre "Die Hebriden oder die Fingalshöhle" op.26 "Les Hébrides" (La Grotte de Fingal) / "The Hebrides" (Fingal's cave) · Allegro moderato - Animato (10'00)

    Stay up to date with one click

    If you wish to get the latest updates on your favorite artists or track their next event, sign up below!

    Back to the top