Back to catalogue search

"Acallam na Senórach" : based on Irish tales from the 12th-13th centuries

Chamber Choir Ireland, Paul Hillier
    • Apple Music

    Paul Hillier leads the National Chamber Choir of Ireland and guitarist Stewart French in this first recording of Tarik O’Regan’s Acallam na Senórach: An Irish Colloquy, a work they premiered in November 2010. Sung in English, Middle Irish, and Latin and calling for sixteen voices, guitar and bodhráin (Irish frame drum), the score takes its title from the important 12th/13th-century narrative “Dialogue of the Elders” which follows two legendary heroes, Caílte and Oisín, in their travels around Ireland as they retell their ancient stories to a newly arrived Saint Patrick.
    “One of the most original and eloquent of young British composers” – The Observer, UK
    “Striking, intense, captivating, are all applicable descriptions of the young British composer Tarik O’Regan’s music.” – BBC Music

    Read more Read less



    • Tarik O'Regan


    TARIK O'REGAN [1978-]
    Part One
    · Prologue to Part One (3'24)
    · The Fian (7'52)
    · The Spring (3'40)
    · Recitative (1'10)
    · Cas Corach (2'33)
    · Guitar Interlude I (3'37)
    · The Sid (5'14)
    · Recitative (0'33)
    · Niam (4'36)
    · Bodhran Interlude: Colloquy (2'58)
    Part Two
    · Prologue to Part Two (0'44)
    · Guitar Interlude II (3'58)
    · Recitative (0'41)
    · Cael and Crede (5'20)
    · Cailte (2'05)
    · Guitar Interlude III (1'14)
    · Patrick (5'56)
    · Recitative (1'09)
    · Fian Paternoster (2'30)
    · Epilogue (3'28)

    Stay up to date with one click

    If you wish to get the latest updates on your favorite artists or track their next event, sign up below!

    Back to the top