Back to catalogue search

Stabat Mater. Seven Répons des Ténèbres

Carolyn Sampson, Cappella Amsterdam, Estonian National SO and Chamber choir, Daniel Reuss
1 CD
    • Apple Music

    Poulenc’s Stabat Mater, which he described as a ‘requiem without despair’, was written in 1950 following the death of Christian Bérard, a leading figure of 1940s Paris who designed the sets for Cocteau’s films and plays. This masterly work, dedicated to the Virgin of Rocamadour, gives pride of place to the chorus and clearly shows its line of descent from the French grands motets of the age of Louis XIV. On completing it, Poulenc wrote to Pierre Bernac: ‘It’s good, because it’s completely authentic.’

    Read more Read less


    • Carolyn Sampson
    • Choral ensemble
    • Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir
      Choral ensemble
    • Estonian National Symphony Orchestra
      Symphony Orchestra
    • Conductor


    FRANCIS POULENC [1899-1963]
    Sept Répons des Ténèbres
    · I. Una hora non potuistis vigilare mecum (3'44)
    · II. Judas mercator pessimus (2'42)
    · III. Jesum tradidit impius (4'27)
    · IV. Caligaverunt oculi mei (3'01)
    · V. Tenebrae factae sunt (4'10)
    · VI. Sepulto Domino (3'11)
    · VII. Ecce quomodo moritur justus (5'54)
    Stabat Mater
    · I. Stabat mater dolorosa (4'50)
    · II. Cujus animam gementem (1'11)
    · III. O quam tristis et afflicta (2'54)
    · IV. Quae moerebat et dolebat (1'27)
    · V. Quis est homo, qui non fleret (1'33)
    · VI. Vidit suum dulcem natum (4'15)
    · VII. Eja mater, fons amoris (1'26)
    · VIII. Fac ut ardeat cor meum (2'32)
    · IX. Sancta mater, istud agas (3'35)
    · X. Fac ut portem Christi mortem (4'11)
    · XI. Inflammatus et accensus (2'07)
    · XII. Quando corpus morietur (4'46)

    Stay up to date with one click

    If you wish to get the latest updates on your favorite artists or track their next event, sign up below!

    Back to the top