Back to catalogue search

Stabat Mater

Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg, Wiener Singverein, Gustavo Gimeno
1 CD
  • Apple Music
  • Spotify

For their first recording with harmonia mundi, Gustavo Gimeno and the Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg revisit Rossini’s famous Stabat Mater. This work, composed after the premature end of his career in the theatre, has sometimes been criticised for its exuberance and operatic vocal writing. But that is also what makes it a unique and spellbinding work. The team assembled for this recording has perfectly understood this, and dares to present a reading that is as moving as it is exhilarating!

Read more Read less
Sound quality


  • Conductor
  • Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg
  • Maria Agresta
  • Daniela Barcellona
  • René Barbera
  • Carlo Lepore
  • Wiener Singverein
    Choral ensemble


GIOACCHINO ROSSINI [1792-1868] · I. Introduzione. Andante moderato. Stabat Mater dolorosa (9'17) · II. Aria. Allegretto maestoso. Cujus animam gementem (5'55) · III. Duetto. Largo. Quis est homo (6'29) · IV. Aria. Allegretto maestoso. Pro peccatis (4'15) · V. Coro e Recitativo. Andante mosso Eja, Mater (4'17) · VI. Quartetto. Allegretto moderato. Sancta Mater (6'49) · VII. Cavatina. Andante grazioso. Fac ut portem (4'28) · VIII. Aria e Coro. Andante maestoso. Inflammatus (4'37) · IX. Quartetto. Andante. Quando corpus morietur (4'16) · X. Finale. Allegro. In sempiterna sæcula (5'55)

Stay up to date with one click

If you wish to get the latest updates on your favorite artists or track their next event, sign up below!

Back to the top